Talkin' Tea w/Sophie B

Tea Time all the time. Let's Talk About It!

30s aren’t the new 20….they’re better!!!

on November 5, 2013

It’s no secret that I had my first child at the age of 16, and because I don’t learn my lessons the first time around, I had my second at 19. I love both my boys with all my being…however I feel I sacrificed my teenage years and my 20s to be a mom. I wanted to be the best mom I knew how to be and that meant going to work and going home. I didn’t hang out and explore the world and its possibilities. I didn’t pursue my dreams and live on the edge. I don’t regret any of it either. My boys know I love them and we have a great relationship. We laugh, we talk, and we hang out and they respect me. They’re both good kids. Fast forward and now I’m 31 with a birthday fast approaching on the 21st. My youngest, 12 now lives with his father because we co-parent the best we know how and my oldest, 15 lives with me.

I don’t know if it’s because my boys are now self-sufficient, actually I know it is. However, I think its much more to it than that. When you’re in your 20s you are trying to figure life out without getting stepped on too much. Now 30s is a whole new ball game. You know how to party without getting into trouble, you no longer argue and fight over dumb stuff with dumb people. If you aren’t living your dream you’re now ready to go for it or give up lol. 30s just feel good because you’ve made enough mistakes to know that its okay to make mistakes. Maybe its just me because I feel so free and focused and ready for the world. I’m in such a happier place and I’m no longer afraid to give my all because I know life is short and I’m worth it.

Do you like your 30s, are you where you think you should be? Are you happy? Are you ready to be happy if you’re not?

 

2 responses to “30s aren’t the new 20….they’re better!!!

  1. lynne1324 says:

    Hello there, I just saw your blog and i can say that 50’s is the new 30’s. Great post. Thanks Lynne

Leave a Reply

Natural2Locks

My journey from natural to locks

101 Books

Reading my way through Time Magazine's 100 Greatest Novels since 1923 (plus Ulysses)

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Depths of D.M.W. Lewis

Home Page of YA /Children's Author, DMW Lewis

Street of Dreams

A literary blog of poet, playwright and essayist Rachael Stanford

